Abbey Clergy and Staff

Chapter

Revd Canon Bridgewater, Rector of Bath Abbey

Revd Canon Guy Bridgewater, Rector of Bath Abbey

01225 422462
gbridgewater@bathabbey.org

The Revd Canon Guy Bridgewater was licensed as the Abbey’s 29th Rector in a special service of welcome on 26 November 2018. Guy joins us from Horsham, Sussex where he was the Team Rector and Rural Dean for eleven years. He was ordained in the Diocese of Salisbury in 1987 and has since served the church in many different ways. Prior to Horsham, he was Diocesan Missioner and Residentiary Canon in the Diocese of Gloucester and has also held posts in Dorset, at Lee Abbey in Devon, as Vicar of Cranbrook in Kent.

Revd Stephen Girling, Bath Abbey Missioner

Revd Stephen Girling, Abbey Missioner

01225 422462
missioner@bathabbey.org

Stephen joined the Abbey's clergy team in April 2015 and has a particular responsibility for the outward facing work of the Abbey in the city, and with communicating the Abbey’s message to visitors. He is also the Area Dean of Bath, with oversight responsibilities for the Anglican churches in the city and surrounding villages. After five years as a defence scientist, Stephen was ordained as a priest in the Church of England in 1991 and has served in suburban and rural parishes. He is married to Diane and they have four grown children. He is constantly looking out to discover the new things that God in Christ is doing in his world, and to discern how we are being called to participate with him.

 

Polish_20201002_115328263

Revd Chantal Mason,
Abbey Pastor

01225 422462
cmason@bathabbey.org

Chantal was licensed by Bishop Ruth as Bath Abbey Pastor on 6 September 2020. She has a background in secondary education, and taught in Exeter for six years before being ordained in Exeter diocese in 2008. Chantal brings a variety of pastoral ministry experience. She has ministered in a suburban and rural parish in Exeter diocese, as Bishop’s chaplain to Stephen Cottrell in Chelmsford diocese, as Lazenby Chaplain at the University of Exeter, and she has recently worked in a creative Ministry and Media role at Lee Abbey, Devon. Chantal brings a special interest in Church Communications, the Creative Arts and the New Monasticism.

Revd Evelyn Lee-Barber, Associate Priest at Bath Abbey

Revd Evelyn Lee-Barber, Associate Priest

01225 422462
evelyn@bathabbey.org

With a background in business and team development, Evelyn was ordained in June 2013 and came to Bath Abbey as a curate to train. A recent masters degree enabled her to pursue her interest in teams and leadership writing a dissertation entitled 'Servant not master; re-imagining time in Christian Leadership'. She is married to Chris and  has two daughters and a cat.

 

Revd Ken Madden, Associate Minister

Revd Ken Madden, Retired Minister with Permission to Officiate

01225 422462
kmadden@bathabbey.org

Ken served as Headmaster of three independent preparatory schools, including eight years in Kenya, before being ordained in 2009 in Gloucester. After moving to Bath in 2013 he joined the ministry team at St Michael’s Without and from 2018 joined Bath Abbey as an Associate Minister. Since retiring in 2021 Ken now has Permission To Officiate and continues to enjoy a varied and active ministry at the Abbey.

Ken is married to Libby and they have three married children and eight grandchildren. He has a particular interest in the First World War and goes with Libby most years to serve as Wardens at Talbot House near Ypres. He sings in the Bath Minerva Choir and enjoys all sports, especially watching rugby and cricket, and is a member of Bath Golf Club.

Cath Candish

Cath Candish, Curate

01225 422462
ccandish@bathabbey.org

Cath was licensed as Lay Curate in July and is due to be ordained at the end of September. Cath joins us after a year as Interim Minister at St Andrews Community Church in Foxhill.  Before that, she trained at St Mellitus college, London. Cath lives in Combe Down with her husband John, two teenagers, an elderly mother and her carer, two dogs and a cat. She is a linguist with a background in homelessness, refugees and international development. Cath moved to Bath four years ago from her family farm on Exmoor. Prior to that she has worked in London, Nottingham, and rural western Tanzania.

Tim Norton, Youth and Families Minister

Tim Norton, Youth and Families Minister

01225 422462
tnorton@bathabbey.org

Tim has over 20 years’ experience in youth ministry and has worked at St James Church in Gerrards Cross as Youth Pastor, at King Edward’s School in Witley as a School Chaplain, and as Manager of the Beacon Youth and Outdoor Activity Centre at Lee Abbey in North Devon.

Tim enjoys building strong relationships with young people and their families and finding engaging and creative ways of communicating the gospel of Jesus Christ to this emerging generation. He is married to Sandie and they have a son Josh, who went to the University of Bath and is now a PE Teacher in Edgebaston, as well as two French Bulldogs. He loves being in the outdoors and spending time with family and friends and is really looking forward to being able to watch Bath play at the Rec and getting his time down for the Park Run in Rainbow Woods!

Frank Mowat, Executive Director

Frank Mowat, Executive Director

01225 422462
fmowat@bathabbey.org

Frank joins Bath Abbey from HSBC Bank where he was a Regional Director. He is MBA qualified and his commercial knowledge and experience is extensive having spent the last 36 years advising and supporting businesses and charities achieve their goals. Frank will be responsible for developing the commercial activities of the Abbey pre and post the completion of our Footprint programme which will involve forging strong relationships with the local business community, schools and local visitor attractions.

Frank has lived on the outskirts of Bath for the last 25 years with his wife Dawn their two children and his dog Ted. He is a Bath Rugby season ticket holder and enjoys running, going to the gym and travel.

Rose Amphlett

Rose Amphlett,
Churchwarden

churchwardens@bathabbey.org

If you would like to leave a message for Rose, please call the Abbey office on 01225 422462 and she will get back to you she can.

James Playfair, Churchwarden

Dr James Playfair, Churchwarden

churchwardens@bathabbey.org

If you would like to leave a message for James, please call the Abbey office on 01225 422462 and he will get back to you he can.

Abbey Office

Philippa Parfrey, Office Manager

Philippa Parfrey, Office Manager

01225 303311
pparfrey@bathabbey.org

 

Lynn Cornish, Receptionist and Concerts/Office Administrator

01225 422462
office@bathabbey.org

Sue Clark, Worship Administrator

Sue Clark, Worship Administrator

01225 422462
sclark@bathabbey.org

 

Music

Huw WIlliams, Director of Music at Bath Abbey

Huw Williams, Director of Music

01225 303313
hwilliams@bathabbey.org

Shean Bowers, Assistant Director of Music

Shean Bowers, Assistant Director of Music

01225 303326
shean@bathabbey.org

 

Mary Horner, Music Administrator

Mary Horner, Music Support

01225 422462
mhorner@bathabbey.org

 

Gary Desmond, Deputy Organist

Gary Desmond, Deputy Organist

01225 422462

Departments

Anna Riggs, Archivist

Anna Riggs, Archivist

01225 303316
archives@bathabbey.org

Elaine Teh, Communications Officer

Elaine Teh, Communications Officer

01225 303320
eteh@bathabbey.org

 

Lucy Ryder, Communications Officer

Lucy Ryder, Communications Officer

01225 303320
lryder@bathabbey.org

Natalie Cox-Mullins, HR Officer

Natalie Cox-Mullings, HR Officer

01225 303344
ncox-mullings@bathabbey.org

Oliver Taylor, Head of Interpretation, Learning and Engagement

Oliver Taylor, Head of Interpretation, Learning and Engagement

01225 303322
otaylor@bathabbey.org

Polly Andrews, Learning Officer at Bath Abbey

Polly Andrews, Learning Officer

01225 303319
pandrews@bathabbey.org

Mary Wickenden, Volunteers Officer

Mary Wickenden, Volunteers Officer

01225 303324
mwickenden@bathabbey.org

Donna Lodge, Shop Manager

Donna Lodge, Shop Manager

01225 303345
dlodge@bathabbey.org

 

Jess McKenzie, Deputy Visitor Services Manager

Jess McKenzie, Senior Visitor Experience Manager

01225 303315
jmckenzie@bathabbey.org

Francesca Morton, Visitor Experience Manager

01225 303315
fmorton@bathabbey.org

Sarah Leighton, Finance Manager

Sarah Payne, Head of Finance

01225303323
spayne@bathabbey.org

Karen Gallagher, Assistant Accountant

Karen Gallagher, Assistant Accountant

01225 303323
kgallagher@bathabbey.org

Drew Aitchison, Custodian

01225 303328
thevergers@bathabbey.org

James Long

Jay Long, Verger & Operations

01225 303328
thevergers@bathabbey.org

Samuel Love

Samuel Love, Operations Support

01225 303328
thevergers@bathabbey.org

Ed Harrison-Smith, Operations Team

Ed Harrison-Smith, Verger & Operations

01225 303328
thevergers@bathabbey.org

Kevin Reed, Facilities Manager

Kevin Reed, Facilities Manager

01225 422462

kreed@bathabbey.org

Nathan Ward

Nathan WardFootprint Project Director

01225 303319
nward@bathabbey.org

Cath Foxwell, Fundraising and Development Manager

Cath Foxwell, Fundraising & Development Manager

01225 303314
cfoxwell@bathabbey.org

John Barnes

John Barnes
Planned Giving Officer (Voluntary)

01225 422462
planned.giving@bathabbey.org

 

Safeguarding

Derek Smith, Safeguarding Officer

Derek Smith
Safeguarding Officer

01225 336657
dsmith@bathabbey.org

At Bath Abbey, we are committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children, and all staff and volunteers who are in contact with children or vulnerable adults have undergone CRB checks.