Abbey Clergy and Staff

Chapter

Revd Canon Bridgewater, Rector of Bath Abbey

Revd Canon Guy Bridgewater, Rector of Bath Abbey

01225 422462
gbridgewater@bathabbey.org

The Revd Canon Guy Bridgewater was licensed as the Abbey’s 29th Rector in a special service of welcome on 26 November 2018. Guy joins us from Horsham, Sussex where he was the Team Rector and Rural Dean for eleven years. He was ordained in the Diocese of Salisbury in 1987 and has since served the church in many different ways. Prior to Horsham, he was Diocesan Missioner and Residentiary Canon in the Diocese of Gloucester and has also held posts in Dorset, at Lee Abbey in Devon, as Vicar of Cranbrook in Kent.

Revd Stephen Girling, Bath Abbey Missioner

Revd Stephen Girling, Abbey Missioner

01225 422462
missioner@bathabbey.org

Stephen joined the Abbey's clergy team in April 2015 and has a particular responsibility for Discipleship, Developing Leadership, Teaching and Learning, and Communication here at the Abbey. After five years as a defence scientist, Stephen was ordained as a priest in the Church of England in 1991 and has served in suburban and rural parishes, most recently as the Vicar of Crofton Parish in Fareham, Portsmouth. He is married to Diane and they have four children. He is constantly looking out for the new things God, in Christ, is doing in his world and learning more about him – this makes the journey of faith a great adventure and Stephen wants to inspire others to take it.

Revd Evelyn Lee-Barber, Associate Priest at Bath Abbey

Revd Evelyn Lee-Barber, Associate Priest

01225 422462
evelyn@bathabbey.org

With a background in business and team development, Evelyn was ordained in June 2013 and came to Bath Abbey as a curate to train. A recent masters degree enabled her to pursue her interest in teams and leadership writing a dissertation entitled 'Servant not master; re-imagining time in Christian Leadership'. She is married to Chris and  has two daughters and a cat.

 

Revd Ken Madden, Associate Minister

Revd Ken Madden, Associate Minister

01225 422462
kmadden@bathabbey.org

Ken joined Bath Abbey in August 2018 as Interim Minister for one year. After serving as Headmaster of three independent preparatory schools, including eight years in Kenya, Ken was ordained in 2009 in Gloucester. Since moving to Bath in 2013 he has been part of the ministry team at St Michael’s Without and welcomes the opportunity to strengthen the partnership between our two city centre Anglican churches. In addition to joining the liturgical rota Ken will be helping to host events at the Abbey and seeking to support and grow the team of Chaplains who ensure a spiritual presence in the Abbey during the week.

Ken is married to Libby and they have three married children and seven grandchildren. He is chairman of governors of a school near Malvern and has a particular interest in the First World War. Whenever possible he goes to the gym, and enjoys watching rugby and playing golf.

Frank Mowat, Executive Director

Frank Mowat, Executive Director

01225 422462
fmowat@bathabbey.org

Frank joins Bath Abbey from HSBC Bank where he was a Regional Director. He is MBA qualified and his commercial knowledge and experience is extensive having spent the last 36 years advising and supporting businesses and charities achieve their goals. Frank will be responsible for developing the commercial activities of the Abbey pre and post the completion of our Footprint programme which will involve forging strong relationships with the local business community, schools and local visitor attractions.

Frank has lived on the outskirts of Bath for the last 25 years with his wife Dawn their two children and his dog Ted. He is a Bath Rugby season ticket holder and enjoys running, going to the gym and travel.

Liz Westbrook, Churchwarden

Liz Westbrook,
Churchwarden

churchwardens@bathabbey.org

If you would like to leave a message for Liz, please call the Abbey office on 01225 422462 and she will get back to you she can.

James Playfair, Churchwarden

Dr James Playfair, Churchwarden

churchwardens@bathabbey.org

If you would like to leave a message for James, please call the Abbey office on 01225 422462 and he will get back to you he can.

Abbey Office

Philippa Parfrey, Office Manager

Philippa Parfrey, Office Manager

01225 303311
pparfrey@bathabbey.org

 

Lynn Cornish, Receptionist and Concerts/Office Administrator

01225 422462
office@bathabbey.org

Sue Clark, Worship Administrator

Sue Clark, Worship Administrator

01225 422462
sclark@bathabbey.org

 

Music

Huw WIlliams, Director of Music at Bath Abbey

Huw Williams, Director of Music

01225 303313
hwilliams@bathabbey.org

Shean Bowers, Assistant Director of Music

Shean Bowers, Assistant Director of Music

01225 303326
sbowers@bathabbey.org

 

Gary Desmond, Deputy Organist

Gary Desmond, Deputy organist

01225 422462
office@bathabbey.org

Mary Horner, Music Administrator

Mary Horner, Music Support

01225 422462
mhorner@bathabbey.org

 

Departments

Anna Riggs, Archivist

Anna Riggs, Archivist

01225 303322
archives@bathabbey.org

Elaine Teh, Communications Officer

Elaine Teh, Communications Officer

01225 303320
eteh@bathabbey.org

 

Lucy Ryder, Communications Officer

Lucy Ryder, Communications Officer

01225 303320
lryder@bathabbey.org

Holly Doughty, Tower Tour and Events Manager

Holly Doughty, Tower Tour and Events Manager

01225 422462
hdoughty@bathabbey.org

 

Natalie Cox-Mullins, HR Officer

Natalie Cox-Mullings, HR Officer

01225 303344
ncox-mullings@bathabbey.org

Donna Lodge, Shop Manager

Donna Lodge, Shop Manager

01225 303312
dlodge@bathabbey.org

 

Lorna Bythe, Assistant Shop Manager

Lorna Blythe, Assistant Shop Manager

01225 303312
lblythe@bathabbey.org

Oliver Taylor, Head of Interpretation, Learning and Engagement

Oliver Taylor, Head of Interpretation, Learning and Engagement

01225 303322
otaylor@bathabbey.org

Sarah Fielding, Visitor Services Manager

Sarah Fielding, Visitor Services Manager

01225 303310
sfielding@bathabbey.org

Jess McKenzie, Deputy Visitor Services Manager

Jess McKenzie, Deputy Visitor Services Manager

01225 303334
jmckenzie@bathabbey.org

Mary Wickenden, Volunteers Officer

Mary Wickenden, Volunteers Officer

01225 303324
mwickenden@bathabbey.org

Karen Gallagher, Assistant Accountant

Karen Gallagher, Assistant Accountant

01225 303323
kgallagher@bathabbey.org

Jon Hoffmann, Operations Manager

01225 303317
jhoffmann@bathabbey.org

Footprint

Alix Gilmer, Footprint Project Director

Alix GilmerFootprint Project Director

01225 303319
agilmer@bathabbey.org

Cath Foxwell, Fundraising and Development Manager

Cath Foxwell, Fundraising & Development Manager

01225 303314
cfoxwell@bathabbey.org

Children and Youth Workers

Derek Smith, Safeguarding Officer

Derek Smith, Safeguarding Person

01225 336657
dsmith@bathabbey.org

At Bath Abbey, we are committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children, and all staff and volunteers who are in contact with children or vulnerable adults have undergone CRB checks.