You are here:

Lunchtime Recital - Concerto Konstanz String Orchestra

Concerto Konstanz, conducted by Wolfgang Mettler

Soloists: Sabina Curti und Tara Horvath (violins)

W. A. Mozart, Salzburg Symphony No.1 in D major, K. 136
S. Barber, Adagio for Strings, Op. 11
J. S. Bach, Concerto for 2 Violins, Strings, and Continuo in D Minor, BWV 1043
Edward Elgar, Serenade for Strings in E Minor Op. 20

Concerto Konstanz is a string orchestra based in Konstanz, a university town on Lake Constance in southern Germany near the Swiss border.  The orchestra comprises about 25 highly qualified amateur string players. The orchestra gives about five concerts a year with varied programmes of classical music, ranging from Baroque music to contemporary composers. Concert venues are churches, small concert halls and historic buildings like the baroque palace on Mainau Island. The orchestra's 2019 tour will involve performances in Bradford-upon-Avon, Poole, Salisbury, and Eastbourne.  Past concert tours included Sweden, Estonia, Hungary, France, and China.