You are here:

New Christmas CD



New Christmas CD from the Bath Abbey Choir
Available from Bath Abbey Shop for £9.99


The Choir of Bath Abbey, Marcus Sealy organ, Directed by Peter King

1 Carol of the bells - M. Leontovich, arr Peter Wilhousky (2:04)

2 Once in royal David’s city - A.H. Mann, arr David Willcocks (3:38)

3 Sussex Carol - Trad English, arr Bob Chilcott (2:01)

4 Adam lay ybounden – Howard Skempton (2:01)

5 It came upon the midnight clear - Trad English, adapted Arthur Sullivan, arr John Scott (3:27)

6 Lo, how a Rose e’er blooming - 14th-century German, arr David Blackwell (3:40)

7 Unto us is born a son - Piae Cantiones (1582), arr Willcocks (2:02)

8 A stable lamp - Richard Shephard (4:07)

9 Ding dong! merrily on high - Trad English, arr Willcocks (2:23)

10 God rest you merry, gentlemen - Trad, arr Mark Sirett (4:15)

11 Glory to the Christ Child - Alan Bullard (2:46)

12 Good king Wenceslas - Piae Cantiones, arr Chilcott (2:53)

13 I saw a stable - Alan Bullard (1:53)

14 There is no rose - Howard Skempton (2:50)

15 While shepherds watched - Este’s Psalter (1592), arr Chilcott (2:34)

16 Away in a manger - James R. Murray, arr Chilcott (2:32)

17 A little child there is yborn - Malcolm Archer (1:47)

18 O little town of Bethlehem - Trad, v3 arr Dudley Holroyd, v4 arr David Hill (3:34)

19 Silent night - Franz Gruber, arr Chilcott (3:38)

20 The Bell Carol Philip Ledger (1:43)

21 O come, all ye faithful - J.F. Wade, arr Ledger (4:08)

22 What child is this? - Thomas Hewitt Jones (4:45)

23 The Christ-child - Gabriel Jackson (4:16)

24 Hark! the herald angels sing - Felix Mendelssohn, arr Paul Leddington Wright (3:09)


The latest release in Regent’s popular ‘Christmas from …’ series features the Choir of Bath Abbey, directed by Peter King.

A wonderful collection of Christmas music from quiet lullabies to full-voiced rejoicing, captured in the stunning acoustic of this beautiful and historic building.

Many of the carols featured on this recording are original compositions, or new arrangements, from the recent ‘Carols for Choirs’ Vol 5 collection, and are receiving their first recording on this disc.


Regent REGCD390