You are here:

Visiting Choirs

  • Bath Abbey welcomes Visiting Choirs to sing Sunday services (at 11.15 am and 3.30 pm) at times when the Abbey Choir is on holiday. These times usually include:
  • One or two Sundays after Christmas
  • One or two Sundays after Easter
  • Approximately seven Sundays over the second half of July, and August
  • One or two Sundays to coincide with local school half-term holidays i.e.
  • Mid February
  • End of May
  • End of October

Most choirs like to come for the whole weekend and sing Choral Evensong on the Saturday.

Early booking is advisable as the Abbey gets heavily booked by other local organisations for concerts etc.

Visiting Choirs are given use of the Choir Vestry in which to rehearse and robe.

The Abbey’s magnificent Klais Organ provides a versatile, colourful and stimulating accompaniment to choral and congregational music. New wooden screens behind the choir stalls have created a more friendly acoustic environment for singers.

Availability

At the moment the following dates are available:

2018

  • Saturday 3 & Sunday 4 November

2019

  • Sunday 14 April
  • Saturday 27 & Sunday 28 April
  • Saturday 20 & Sunday 21 July
  • Saturday 17 & Sunday 18 August
  • Saturday 28 & Sunday 29 December

2020

  • Saturday 22 & Sunday 23 February
  • Saturday 4 & Sunday 5 April 
  • Saturday 23 & Sunday 24 May
  • Saturday 11 & Sunday 12 July
  • Saturday 18 & Sunday 19 July
  • Saturday 25 & Sunday 26 July
  • Saturday 1 & Sunday 2 August
  • Saturday 8 & Sunday 9 August
  • Saturday 15 & Sunday 16 August

Contact us

If you would like us to consider your Choir or simply to find out more, please contact Philippa Parfrey at the Bath Abbey Office, 11a York Street, Bath, BA1 1NG, Tel +44 (0)1225 422462 or Email: pparfrey@bathabbey.org