You are here:


The Friends of Bath Abbey has been in existence for over 60 years. Our members are of various backgrounds, different ages and come from far and wide but share the same interest and aim. We wish to help preserve, care for and add to the Abbey’s magnificent architecture and history in order to ensure future generations can derive great pleasure and enjoyment from it, as we do.

There is a great sense of friendship and fellowship among our members and we host a varied programme of events and activities throughout the year. We are delighted to be able to provide a permanent link for those who would like to stay in touch with the life of this church but who perhaps do not use the Abbey as their regular place of worship.

Working with the PCC (Parochial Church Council – the body with ultimate responsibility and control), we seek to ensure our contributions are useful, beautiful and long-lasting. While we tend not to be involved with routine maintenance, the Friends often play a major role in restoration work and refurbishment. These range from practical improvements, such as supplying new signage or cleaning the East front, to more extensive projects, including installing new Quire Screens and refurbishing the Sanctuary and Norman Chapels.

We are thrilled to be associated with Footprint, the exciting redevelopment project for the Abbey, which we whole-heartedly support. To find out more, please click here.

The Friends Executive Committee

This is elected at our Annual General Meeting at the end of January each year. It consists of up to 22 members including representatives from the PCC (Parochial Church Council), the Charter Trustees of Bath and the Bath Deanery Chapter in addition to the nine elected Friends, each of whom stand for three years. The other members are the Rector as President, the Chairman who is appointed by the Rector, the Secretary, Membership Secretary and Treasurer who are appointed by the Committee. It meets five times a year to plan new projects and consider forthcoming events.

President The Rector, Edward Mason

Chairman Professor Jeff Jupp 
Tel 01225 311390,

Treasurer Mr Brian Webber
Tel 01225 469722,

Secretary Mr Jeremy Key-Pugh
Tel 01225 427525,

Membership Secretary Mr Brian Webber
Tel 01225 469722,

Charity Registered No. 205082